Donovan beattie:
The professional

pronouns: she/her

Educational Background

  • Student within the Masters of Science in Clinical Counseling program at Albertus Magnus College; anticipated graduation in Spring 2023

  • Bachelor of Arts (BA) in Psychology, Albertus Magnus College

Supervisor Information

  • Kayti Protos, DSW, LCSW 

  • Licensed Clinical Social Worker in Connecticut & Pennsylvania​

Selected Trainings & Certifications

  • Certified in Mental Health First Aid

  • "Treating eating disorders in marginalized community" by M Reim Ifrach, EAT, ATR;-BC, ATC, LPC, NCC, CLAT, LCMHC

Clinical Approach


I like to consider my clinical approach as a tool belt in which I can pick the right tools for each client. This is because I believe that each client is unique in their own way, and that therapy is not a one-size-fits-all model. Having experience being in the client role, I know first hand how strong, vulnerable, and brave you must be to engage in therapy. My approach is that the client is the expert in their own lives, and through collaboration, we can work to foster growth and change.

 

  • Therapy tools:

    • Person-centered therapy

    • Humanistic approach

    • Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT)​

    • Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT)

    • Rogerian therapy 
       

  • Areas of interest:

    • Eating disorder recovery

    • Body positivity, anti-diet, HAES-aligned approach

    • 2SLGBTQQIA+ community 

    • Personality disorders​​, especially those with borderline personality disorder

    • Trauma recovery

    • Navigating anxiety and depression
       

  • Age range:​

    • Middle school age (5th-8th grade)​

    • High school (9th-12th grade)

    • Emerging / young adults

    • Adults

Image from iOS (1).jpg

Donovan: The Person

pronouns: she/her

Social Location

I am a bisexual, white, able-bodied, non-veteran, cisgender woman. I am in recovery from an eating disorder and a huge advocate for treating mental health with the same respect (if not better) as we do physical health. I was born and raised in the Valley of Southern Connecticut, which makes me, as the locals say, a "valley girl!" Counseling is a field of great interest to me as I have been in the client role and am studying how to be in the therapist role. I was fortunate to find wonderful therapists in my own journey and I want to provide a positive experience my future clients. Additionally, I want to show how amazing therapy can be, challenging the stigma that surrounds mental health.

Interesting Facts

  • I am a proud cat mama to four cats: Sam, Tully, Luna, and Grim

  • Halloween has been and will always be my favorite holiday. When I was little, I dreamed of living in Halloweentown. 

  • I have a lot of favorite TV shows, to name some goodies: Stranger Things, Breaking Bad, Euphoria, Death Note, Tokyo Ghoul, and the Great British Baking Show. 

  • I love pilates. It helps me clear my head and it has the same foundation as classical dance, which is something I grew up doing for over 14 years.

  • I love to travel, laugh, meet new people, and learn about new cultures.

  • In addition to being a mental health and body positive advocate, I am also a huge advocate for individuals with disabilities. I currently work at a school for children with special needs and love being a part of their experience.

unnamed-3.jpg
unnamed.jpg
unnamed-1.jpg