MJ Jacquot
The Professional

pronouns: she/her

Screenshot_20220913_112746.jpg

Educational Background

  • Master of Science (MS) in Clinical Mental Health Counseling, Walden University, 2015

  • Bachelor of Arts (BA) in Liberal Arts, Long Island University, 2000

Licensure Information

  • Licensed Professional Counselor Associate, Connecticut

  • Associate Professional Clinical Counselor, California

  • Receiving clinical supervision from Kayti Protos, DSW, LCSW

Selected Trainings & Certifications

  • "Clinical care of the transgender client"

  • "Comprehensive approach to the care of gender-nonconforming children, transgender youth and young adults"

Clinical Approach

I believe in an eclectic and collaborative approach to working with my clients. Since we are all the true expert of ourselves, it is important that I provide a space that nourishes individuality, empowerment, and vulnerability. My clinical approach encompasses a variety of evidenced-based interventions that allow me to build a strong therapeutic relationship, while gaining an understanding of each person's lived experiences. My goal is to help identify and nourish strengths, to reframe situations, thoughts, or feelings that have previously caused suffering, and to explore meaning and purpose.

  • Queer- and Gender-affirming care

  • Cognitive behavior therapy

  • Acceptance and commitment therapy

  • Person centered therapy

  • Affirmative therapy

  • Solution focused therapy

MJ: The Person

pronouns: she/her

Social Location

I am a white, cisgender female in my mid 40's and I am part of the 2SLGBTQQIA+ community. I am the youngest of eight children, and I must say, the coolest. My siblings might disagree?! I love anything animals, music, art, and although my wife has the green thumb, plants bring me tranquility and I love having them surround me. If you ventured into my home, there is a great chance you would experience all the of the above, and the whimsical healing presence of sage and/or palo santo.
 

Interesting Facts

  • I lived in Southern California for the last almost-20 years

  • I have two rescue pups, Rocco (12) and Olive (9) who are my fur-kids and are spoiled as such

  • I am a former D1 college athlete

  • My diet is mostly plant-based

  • I know how to spin vinyl

  • My body is a canvas of my life

  • My MO is to "just be"

  • My hair length and color change often

  • My attire fluctuates between sneaks and track suites, jeans and cowboy boots, and loose fitting clothes and clogs. It depends on my mood. 

  • I fell in love with NYC when I was 11 and moved there at age 17.

Screenshot_20220912_191738.jpg
Screenshot_20220913_113002.jpg
Screenshot_20220912_192038.jpg